Native American Literature Permanent Section (MMLA 2017)

Printer-friendly versionSend by email
Friday, March 17, 2017 - 1:33pm
Midwest Modern Language Association
deadline for submissions: 
Wednesday, April 5, 2017

In addressing the conference theme of “Artists and Activists,” the Permanent Section on Native American Literature seeks proposals exploring a broad literary context for recent protests and legal action against the Dakota Access Pipeline.  Possible topics may explore literary activism in the tradition of Standing Rock Sioux scholar Vine Deloria. Papers addressing activism with ecological perspectives are encouraged. Possible focus could include historical voices such as Sarah Winnemucca, William Apess, Zitkála Šá, or Jane Johnston Schoolcraft or more recent authors such as Gerald Vizenor, Louis Owens, Leslie Marmon Silko, Simon Ortiz, Thomas King, Louise Erdrich, or Sherman Alexie.